All penguins live in the southern hemisphere, except one species that lives on the Galapagos islands. Penguin babies are called chicks. A group of penguins is called a colony. Penguins are carnivores that eat fish. Penguins’ main predators are Leopard seals. My favorite part about penguins is that they are so cute!

Chinstrap Penguins

Chinstrap penguins live in northern Antarctica and southern South America. In November, the penguins go to their breeding grounds to build nests for their eggs. The Chinstrap penguin is 28 inches tall and it weighs 6.6-11 pounds.

Emperor Penguins

Emperor penguins live all around Antarctica. Usually a young Emperor penguin starts to fish for the first time in December when the ice retreats and the water is closer to the colony. An Emperor penguin is 45 inches tall and can weigh up to 88 pounds.

Fiordland Penguin

The Fiordland penguin lives in southwestern New Zealand. Fiordland penguins have yellow feathers streaking across the sides of their head to attract mates. Fiordland penguins are around 22 inches tall and between 8-10 pounds.

Humboldt Penguin

The coasts of Chile and Peru is where Humboldt penguins live. The Humboldt penguin has areas around it’s eyes that have no feathers to expel body heat since the temperatures where they live can reach 100 degrees or more! Humboldt penguins are two feet tall and they weigh 8-13 pounds.

Adelie Penguin

Antarctica is where Adelie penguins live. An Adelie penguin’s average life span is 11 to 20 years. Adelie penguins are 27.5 inches tall and weigh 8.5 to 12 pounds.

Thank you for reading this article, see you next time!

You May Also Like

+ There are no comments

Add yours